Andrex Extra Soft Blog Roll

It's all a load of bollocks, quite frankly

Volbeat – Still Counting

Volbeat are relatively new band to me, only really being turned on to them within the last 18 months thanks to a mate. Vol who I hear you ask? Well, they’re a band that were formed in Copenhagen by Michael Poulsen and their musical style seems to fuse heavy metal with rockabilly, blues, rock ‘n’ roll and punk.

Since their formation they have released four studio albums. Their first album The Strength / The Sound / The Songs was released in 2005 to critical acclaim and some award-winning. Their follow-up second album Rock The Rebel / Metal The Devil was released in 2007, a year which also saw Volbeat support Metallica and Megadeth live. 2009 saw the release of Guitar Gangsters & Cadillac Blood, again to much European success. Their most up to date album Above Heaven/Beyond Hell picks up where Guitar Gangsters left off and was released in 2010.

Having got the entire Volbeat back catalogue, there is one particular song that stands out. It is not necessarily my all-time favourite Volbeat song by them but it is up there. The song is “Still Counting” and is from the Guitar Gangsters & Cadillac Blood album. Still Counting is probably one of Volbeat’s more immediate songs the whole song has great guitar and drum sounds throughout. It starts off with a great sounding guitar lick, followed by some simple drums then with Michael Poulsen’s distinct vocals coming in with a bang a moment later. Then at around 50 seconds it all breaks loose.

Why do I like it so much? Well, put bluntly it kicks ass. It’s the song that introduced me to Volbeat in the first place. It’s great to listen to wherever you are, but it’s one of those songs that is great to have on in the car. You know the scenario, back roads, summers day, window open, full blast, singing at the top of your voice (although when I am singing it at the top of my voice you certainly won’t want to be in the same car as me as I’m totally tone-deaf). What’s more, it’s also the song that got my wife into Volbeat. Even better than that, she’s eight months pregnant and my as yet unborn son reacts to this more than anything else.

What’s the best version? As with most kinds of music, hearing the song live is the best. There is a cracking version from 2010’s Rock AM Ring set included below, as is the studio version. I may have been able to comment on actually seeing it played live as I was due to see Volbeat live in Bristol last December with the mate that got me into them. Sadly, due to Michael Poulsen being ill and hospitalised they had to cancel. So I expect the next time they arrange a UK tour I’ll more than likely be at the nearest gig.

So, ladies and gentlemen, I give you Still Counting:

Here is the studio version:

Catch a live version at the Rock Am Ring here:

April 8, 2011 - Posted by | Music

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

